TESPA By-laws

As of NOVEMBER 2010

The following are the bylaws of the Tantallon Elementary School Parents Association as drawn up by the Executive Committee of the Association and submitted for approval to the members at the general meeting of November 17, 2010.
  1. To provide a social and communication link between the home and school.
  2. To stimulate a greater knowledge of the educational process through guest speakers and open discussions.
  3. To organize and supervise fund raising to enrich the educational programs for the children attending the school.
  1. Membership shall include all parents and guardians of elementary school children, and school faculty.
  2. The association will support the administration of the school in their endeavors on behalf of the school.
  3. Any parent or guardian volunteering on behalf of TESPA; within the school, during a school event or fundraiser (for example, but not limited to TESPA Class Parent, Spring Fling volunteer) will exhibit and promote positive communications between students, teachers and fellow parents or guardians and will conduct themselves in a respectful manner.
The elected officers of the association will be Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and four additional Members-at-Large positions also to be elected.  President and Past President will be a role of succession from year to year.
  1. To direct and administer the affairs of the association.
  2. Coordinate and organize fundraising and social events.
  3. Represent association members in matters of interest to the community.
  4. Develop association policies and long-term planning.
  5. Each Executive Member will take on the role of TESPA Executive Liaison for one or more of the TESPA Subcommittees.
Nominations and elections for elected officers will be brought forward to the floor at the second meeting of the new school year and will be held as follows:
Vice President – every year a new Vice President will be nominated, after serving one year as the Vice President this person will become President in the next year for a one year term, and then hold the Executive position of Past President for one year following that.
Treasurer and Secretary – Elections will be held on a staggered basis, one year voting for Treasurer, the next for Secretary both for a two year term. In the event that an officer is unable to complete the two-year term of office, an election will be held to elect someone to complete that term.
Members At Large – Two new members at large will be elected each year for a two year term. In the event that a member at large is unable to complete the two-year term of office, an election will be held to elect someone to complete that term.
Where more than one candidate has accepted nomination, election will be held by private ballot.  Where there are two or more nominees, the candidate receiving the highest number of votes will be declared elected. In the event of a tie, the nominations committee shall determine the candidate who shall be declared elected.  The Nominations committee includes all returning Executive Members.
In order that decisions on matters of importance to the general members may be made, i.e. Elections, a quorum of twelve members must be in attendance; and at least two-thirds of those present must be in favor of the motion. The nine members of the Executive Committee may vote by proxy in writing to the President if by extenuating circumstances they are unable to attend the meeting in person.
Finances of the association will be administered by the Executive.
Signing officers will be the President, the Treasurer and the School Principal. All cheques must be signed by two of the signing officers, one of whom must be the School Principal. On the duly recorded decision of the council, an alternate signing officer may be designated annually from amongst the officers.
The executive may approve expenses up to five hundred dollars ($500.00) without approval from the general membership.
Amendments to these bylaws may be made biannually as needed. Respectfully, submitted on November 17, 2010 by current TESPA Executive.|
TESPA PRESIDENT – Kate Wigglesworth
TESPA TREASURER – Michael Crawford
TESPA MEMBERS-AT-LARGE – Amy Covey, Anne Gosney, Mary Lou Robertson and Melissa Ellis
PAST PRESIDENT – Melissa Velden